Multiculturalism

Multiculturalism-

1) the state of being multicultural.

2) the preservation of different cultures or cultural identities within a unified society, as a state or nation.

 

Diversity-

1) the state or fact of being diverse; difference; unlikeness; diversity of opinion.

2) variety; multiformity.

3) a point of difference.

 

My daughter has made the statement that she thought that I was a racist. And maybe she is right, but it was in that moment that I had to even consider what it was that I was looking for in this scenario. I look at the world around me, and with social media, it’s a rather open world these days. People post things they really just shouldn’t say. And maybe in this moment, I am joining that mantra, but, maybe not.

I am not against any race. I don’t hate them. Truth is, I am for everyone having their culture, and no one having their culture above the other. I believe in the freedom of religion and the right to choose. If that means dancing naked around a fire in the middle of a desert, then go, praise your god in the way of your choosing. BUT- that doesn’t mean that war and hatred have to come from this. And, at the root of a big majority of anger in the world is the religious differences of our cultures.

So, is mixing all these cultures into large populous cities a good idea? Are we gaining something, or are we really losing more? How much culture are we keeping, and how much are we losing?

I ask these questions because of the cultures that have already been lost in history. Through change. And, though change can be good, it can also have very damaging tolls when handled wrong. That is my concern here. Are we so far off track that we are losing who we are as a human race. Are we forgetting the deeper parts of our soul?

So, the question that begs to be asked by all this fighting among our cultures is, what are we really fighting about? And is it really that productive? Because from where I am standing, we have achieved nothing but hate! What does that solve?

Leave a Reply

